Food in your country is probably crap if… children’s menus are popular

Part one of  “Food in your country is probably crap if…”  I will outline at least ten differences between countries with good food and countries with bad food.

Kids in Italy don’t eat chicken nuggets and chips while the rest of the family get stuck into real food.  If you find a children’s menu in Italy, it is probably in a restaurant that is trying to cater to tourists who are hell bent on teaching their kids to be fussy.

Some people tell me that there is something innate in children that means they can only eat baked beans, frankfurts, chips and so on.  Personally, I think this is a purely cultural phenomenon.  Parents assume this to be true, so they act like its true.

You almost never see this kind of crap in Japan, Hong Kong, France or anywhere that has good food.  Feeding kids this sort of rubbish is what makes fussy, unadventurous adults.  And when a country is full of fussy, unadventurous adults, restaurants have to follow suit.  That is why in some countries the restaurants are full of bland unauthentic muck. 

I thank my lucky stars that I always ate whatever my parents ate.  I didn’t know that I wasn’t supposed to like it.  My family had not been degraded down to that kind of thinking at that time (or since).  I have met adults for whom fast food is not an occasional convenience but a savoured treat.  That is seriously screwed up.  All of them were fed a specially selected bland diet by their parents who wanted to keep things simple. 

One of the excuses I hear is that kids will kick up a fuss unless they are given this kind crap food.  However, I never see kids in Japan or Italy turning away pasta etc and asking for junk.  I think it is a case of the parents opening a gate they can’t close.

Leave a Reply

